Sign in to follow this  
Willybood

Difference between managed directX9 and XNA

Willybood    122
Im fairly new to game programming, and was wondering (after flicking through some online tutorials and textbooks) what the difference between managed directX9 and XNA is (aside from XNA being able to output xbox 360 compatable executables)? At first glance they seem fairly similar, and I've been having trouble getting XNA running (crappy laptop :-( ). If there isn't much in it I might just go for directX9. Thanks for your help forum peoples

remigius    1172
Basically Managed DirectX and XNA will allow you to accomplish pretty much the same things, so they do offer you similar (nearly equivalent) functionality. The main difference is that XNA is fluffed with all kinds of useful utilities, like the content pipeline, built-in fonts etc. that *may* make your life easier (sometimes they actually do tend to get in the way). This here migration guide gives you a quick rundown of the architectural differences between MDX and XNA.

On a side note, you can set the minimum required shader profiles on the graphics object in the contructor of your XNA game project. IIRC these are set to shader model 2 by default, so by lowering these settings to something your laptop supports, you might be able to get XNA stuff running on it. This is mainly useful when you're working with sprites or use simple shaders only though.

gharen2    520
Quote:
Original post by remigius
The main difference is that XNA is fluffed with all kinds of useful utilities, like the content pipeline, built-in fonts etc. that *may* make your life easier