Sign in to follow this  
sws26

Trademark question.

sws26    122
I have been developing an open source game Herzog3D since 2005. Just recently someone registered herzogwars.org and a trademark to go with it. Could this person at some point in the future sue me for infringing on their trademark even though I used something similar before he registered it? From what I can gather you give up your trademark if you don't enforce it even if you are still using it. But does that mean someone else can come back and sue you by registering it after the required non-enforcement time period.

Trapper Zoid    1370
Note I'm not a lawyer, and for a definitive answer you'll have to consult with one.

Anyone can sue anyone else over anything even if they don't have a case, so even if you're in the right that doesn't mean you won't get sued. Nevertheless, my understanding of trademark law is that if you can prove that you were using your trademark before the filing date of the registered trademark then you should okay. But I really would check with a lawyer on that one.

I'm a bit surprised that you could trademark something based on Herzog anyway, as I'd have thought Technosoft would still own the trademark to Herzog Zwei; has it expired?

sws26    122
Not sure on that one. Technosoft went under and got bought out by a random Pachinko maker called TwentyOne-company.
They probably didn't bother to enforce any of the trademarks and so someone decided to register it to capitalize on the games high regard.

[Edited by - sws26 on May 3, 2007 9:28:49 PM]

ellis1138    234
Since someone else has a Trademark (assuming it's actually registered), and you don't, then they have the rights in this case. I'm not sure how long ago they registered it, but there's a span of 5-6 months in which you're supposed to oppose a Trademark under application. It appears that, if Herzogwars has an actual, registered trademark, then nobody opposed it during application.

But yes, consult a Trademark lawyer.