Sign in to follow this  
Crazyfool

Base 256

Howdy - I'd say I'm a beginner but I've been using base 256 a lot (turning a number into a char symbol to reduce packet size) and decided, for fun, to develope a Base256 class (not completely done) and was wondering if this would be something useful for network programmers? I know it's not very hard to implement, and most often people wont be dealing with too many numbers larger than 256, but I came upon a problem resulting from data length being larger than 256 (I used one byte to tell packet size) and thought of ways to handle it. So as of now, It converts a piece of data up to, 256^6 + 256^5 + ... + 255 (adding 1 would make it 7 bytes long) and I think this would really handle nicely for those sending large numbers through the network.. and possibly other uses. What do you think?

Quote:
So as of now, It converts a piece of data up to, 256^6 + 256^5 + ... + 255 (adding 1 would make it 7 bytes long) and I think this would really handle nicely for those sending large numbers through the network.. and possibly other uses.

How many bytes would an int (32-bit) occupy if stored in base 256?

I guess I had things wrong..

I thought that it sent stuff digit by digit, i.e. 12345 would be 5 bytes, but 1 is only 1 byte..

Meh, cant blame me for trying to help =/

Edit: Btw, my original idea was to sacrifice memory/processing in favor of bandwith.

You want to use minimum number of bits (base-2 notation) to send things over network.

For example, let's say your numbers are in range 500-1000 only.

Your range is 500, or, it takes 9 bits to fully represent such number.

Then, you need to specify how many bits you used. This is a bit harder, since you need to use variable number. Ideally, you don't even send this number across the wire, but is defined by protocol.

So, instead of sending 32 bits over network, you send only 9, or less than 30%.