BattleCity AI - help needed

Started by
2 comments, last by Timkin 16 years, 11 months ago
Hello, Can somebode explain me, how tanks in BattleCity games are driven? I have no experience with AI, so I need clear explanation. Thanks for help (if any)
Advertisement
The old nintendo game? From what I've seen of it I'd guess they are pretty random. The tank picks a direction it can travel in at random with a greater chance of travelling towards the flag then away from it and then moves for a set period of time or until it hits a wall while firing periodically with some randomness involved. At most there could be a finite state machine behind it, but I wouldn't expect more than a few simple rules.
Yes, exacly that game. :)
I think, there is no (advanced) state machine.
It is helpful.
Do you think, that guarante me that tank will move to base (sooner or leater)?

Sorry for my english, my native language is C++ ;)
Okay, some funky hand-wavy (but mathematically justifiable) fun...

It's not too hard to show that if the tanks rotation is biased (even only slightly) in turning toward the base rather than away from it and assuming that it's forward movement was not very large between rotations, then we can expect the tank to arrive at the base eventually.

Why is this so?