file stream using a variable and text

Started by
8 comments, last by Chett2001 16 years, 11 months ago
I have a variable holding the name of a book i want to open but they are in a different folder named 'books' in my project directory, so i was wondering what i have to do to code this, can i do something like: std::fstream File(("books//")bookName); or should i concatanate the char* with the "books//", if so whats the best way to do this? NP: The name of the book changes but the 'books' folder doesnt is what im getting at. Thanks again, Mark
Chett - "I look forward to helping all of you one day, but right now im just a noob learning his way through the perils of game Development."
Advertisement
#include <sstream>std::stringstream ss;ss << "books/" << bookName;std::string bookPath = ss.str();
Best regards, Omid
#include <sstream>std::stringstream ss;ss << "books/" << bookName;std::string bookPath = ss.str();

Whats the equivilent of that but for char* as fstream doesnt like strings :D
Chett - "I look forward to helping all of you one day, but right now im just a noob learning his way through the perils of game Development."
I am pretty sure you can make it return a c string by doing this:

ss.str().c_str();

I'm not near a compiler at this time so I can't test it, but that should return a c style string.

Chad.

: error C2664: 'std::basic_fstream<_Elem,_Traits>::basic_fstream(const char *,std::ios_base::openmode,int)' : cannot convert parameter 1 from 'std::string' to 'const char *'

still didnt like it :O
#include <fstream>#include <string>char * bookName = "my_book.txt";std::fstream stream((std::string("books/") + bookName).c_str(), std::ios::in);

this should do the trick for you.
Awesome thanks a bunch everyone.