Sign in to follow this  
fabiobasile

traumatic experience with MSVC++

fabiobasile    122
Well, i am a newbie, total newbie. I have always been interested in programming, but i guess i am more of an artist and my work involves 3D animation and illustration. Still i have been always curious, though i never had the time to get seriously into it. Turns out now i do, so i decided to head into Barns&Nobles and browse for some books, armed with a list from GameDev.net and lots of naivety. I found this really great book, by the look of it it seems really complicated, but then when i started flipping through it it seems quite easy to understand even to a newbie like me! :) It's called "The Complete Reference - C++ Fourth Edition" by Herbert Schildt. I couldn't keep off it for a few days until i decided to hunt for a good compiler to try some of the examples and tutorials, which are conveniently downloadable from the Osborne website. I got myself a copy of the free Visual C++ Express because of how everyone was drumming and trumpetting about it (at least on the msdn forums), and the trouble began. I didn't realized it at first, but then the first issue started with VC++ complaining about not finding windows.h as i tried to compile tutorial and sample code. I thought as usual, maybe it's me... i'm a newbie after all and this sounds like the typical thing that happens to newbies. But then i started reading all this nasty messages on the msdn forums about people complainign about the missing windows.h header, so i said.. umm.. lots of newbies. Fortunately some guy who didn't sound like a newbie says: "hey that's easy! all you have to do is download this little thing here and this other little thing there and this other service pack and.. and .. and..." several gigabytes later with a hard drive almost full, i had the feeling someone was taking me for a ride. Either that or i really suck at this "programming thing". Then again... does it have to be this complicated?? It's like i