Sign in to follow this  

is possible to make advanced games with C#?

This topic is 3870 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi dudes, So, i'm learning java, but i'm thinking in make a mmorpg (it's just a future project)... but i'm studying the technologies to know what is the best for this purpose... the game that i want to make is a MMORPG style, using OpenGL... so, i got a little of fear to learn C++ cause some friends talks that it's very hard. i'm fine with java, i understand well but since the language is very slow for make it i'm thinking in learn C#, but i don't know nothing about this language, someone can talk if is possible to do that using C#? or if it's not recommended and i sould learn C++ :O? tnx all and sry my worst english...

Uhm:

1) Java isn't as slow as most people think. (it is about as fast as .Net if you use the right compiler/VM and write sane code)
2) OpenGL works very well with Java, C#, C++ and a bunch of other languages
3) Both C# and Java can be used to make any game you can think of.
4) If you want you can learn C++ anyway, there are plenty of resources around for it.

First off let me just say welcome to GameDev.net :)

Secondly, to ward off having a very unpleasant experience here since your new I would just search the gamedev forums and archives. Trust me, the question your asking has been asked hundreds if not thousands of times.

All I can really say is that a game is only as advanced as the person(s) developing it. You can create advanced games in java/C#/C++/Ruby/Python whatever.

XNA uses C# and there are already some "advanced" games being created with it.

Good luck tiagomac and remember that the search function is your friend :)