Refraction in OpenGL and Cg

Started by
8 comments, last by Nichiyoobiko 16 years, 11 months ago
Hi! I'm a real noob to Shader programming but I have to implement a refraction shader in a project of mine. I am using a cubemap for a skybox and to map the refractions onto a sphere in the center of that skybox. I am also moving the camera around that sphere, following a character which is placed on the sphere's surface. My problem now is, that the refraction shader isn't updating. That means, that I see always the same image on the sphere although I am moving the camera. I'm sure there is something wrong with my OpenGL setup. Can anybody tell me step by step what I have to do to get that shader running? My OpenGL code is a total mess now, so I chose to not post it here, but if you want to see it, I will make up for that. I chose to use the following Nvidia Cg Tutorial codes: vertex shader code:

void C7E3v_refraction(float4 position : POSITION,
                      float2 texCoord : TEXCOORD0,
                      float3 normal   : NORMAL,

out float4 oPosition  : POSITION,
                  out float2 oTexCoord  : TEXCOORD0,
                  out float3 T          : TEXCOORD1,

uniform float etaRatio,
              uniform float3 eyePositionW,
              uniform float4x4 modelViewProj, 
              uniform float4x4 modelToWorld)
{
  oPosition = mul(modelViewProj, position);
  oTexCoord = texCoord;

// Compute position and normal in world space
  float3 positionW = mul(modelToWorld, position).xyz;
  float3 N = mul((float3x3)modelToWorld, normal);
  N = normalize(N);

// Compute the incident and refracted vectors
  float3 I = normalize(positionW - eyePositionW);
  T = refract(I, N, etaRatio);
}
fragment shader code:

void C7E4f_refraction(float2 texCoord : TEXCOORD0,
                      float3 T        : TEXCOORD1,

out float4 color : COLOR,

uniform float       transmittance,
              uniform sampler2D   decalMap,