• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
matthew0786

Generate random from Array - C++

This topic is 4235 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi, im making my first game in C++. Im still a newbie. so far, i have defined these 4 arrays (all representing different suits) char spade[13] = {'A','2','3','4','5','6','7','8','9','T','J','Q','K'}; char diamond[13] = {'A','2','3','4','5','6','7','8','9','T','J','Q','K'}; char club[13] = {'A','2','3','4','5','6','7','8','9','T','J','Q','K'}; char heart[13] = {'A','2','3','4','5','6','7','8','9','T','J','Q','K'}; ok, what i want to know is how to generate any 13 random cards from any of the arrays. i tried rand() but it said "incompatible types in assignment of "int" to "char" thanks for your help.

Advertisement
you should perhaps define two ints...

#define NUM_SUITS 4
#define NUM_CARDS 13

then have two ints defining the suit and card num

int suit = rand()% NUM_SUITS;
int card = rand()% NUM_CARDS;

however, i don't think your initial approach to this is ideal. For example, how will you store the card data? storing it as a char won't work since theres no difference between an ace of spades and an ace of hearts (both are 'A' in their respective arrays and would be 'A' in the players hand of cards).

I'd suggest maybe a 2d array of ints representing the deck and represent each card in a players hand with a 2 element int array.

I believe you should take a step back and revise your code design.
Learning C++ means learning to incorporate the supported ways to solve problems.

Your card game could be solved nicely in an object oriented way.
You have nice (even physical) objects, your game cards. Those have properties, suit and value.

This is how your class for the card could look like:

class Card
{
public:

enum Suit { SPADE = 0, DIAMOND = 1, CLUB = 2, HEART = 3 };