• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Waverider

Particles - fast room containment calculation?

This topic is 4059 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been developing a portal engine for a couple months (you can check it out at www.gamemodel.com if you like, I have some demo movies up). I recently added some simple particles and am getting to the point of unifying them more so they can move from room to room and still be rendered properly. I want the particles to be properly blended behind alpha surfaces, and for now this means that I want them to be rendered back to front along with the rooms so that closer alpha walls will properly blend over them. This means that I want particles to be grouped with rooms, so I'll need to be able to detect when they move from one room to the next. Here are some ideas I have: 1. As a particle moves, I can see if it is still in its current room by testing against all the surfaces. If any fail, I know the particle has moved out and need to find the room it is in. (I don't like this idea, it's computationally expensive). 2. I'm using an octree to split up the map into sections. An octree cell lists all the rooms that touch it. I can submit the particle to the octree to see which cell it is in. If that cell has only one room touching it, and it's the room the particle is listed inside, I don't need to do anymore. Otherwise, I need to figure out which room in the list the particle is in. (This method seems like it will be faster) 3. I can see if a particle has moved through a portal, which will tell me that it has moved out of the room, and which room it has moved into. (I like this idea except that particles could float through room walls too - thereby leaving without passing through a portal - and I'd prefer to not have them bounce off the walls since that would require collision detection