Inheritance Question

Started by
3 comments, last by Antheus 16 years, 11 months ago
Not sure if this is just an easy solution, but I am new to inheritance programming. I have some code that is as follows:

#include <string>
#include <vector>
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

class Reference                                                 // Parent
{
	private:

public:

string getTitle();
}; 

class Book : public Reference                                  // Derived
{
	private:
		string Author, Title, Publisher, Year, Volume, Series, Address;
		string Edition, Month, Note, Key;
	public:
		void setAuthor(string author);
		void setTitle(string title);
		void setPublisher(string publisher);
		void setYear(string year);

string getAuthor();

}; 

string Reference::getTitle()
{
	return(Title);
}

void Book::setAuthor(string author)
{
	Author = author;
}

void Book::setTitle(string title) {Title = title;} //set the book title
void Book::setPublisher(string publisher) {Publisher = publisher;} //set the book's publisher
void Book::setYear(string year) {Year = year;} //set the book year

string Book::getAuthor() {return Author;} //function to return the author

int main()
{
	Book aBook;
	string tempAuthor;
	string tempTitle;

aBook.setAuthor("This is an author");
	//aBook.setTitle("This is a title");

tempAuthor = aBook.getAuthor();
	//tempTitle = aBook.getTitle();

cout << tempAuthor << endl;
	cout << tempTitle << endl;

}

This code works as intended, but my question is, I am using the derived class (Book) which is a type of Reference. A book has some of the same properties as other References. Is there a way to define all of the functions in the Reference class, such as setTitle, setAuthor, setPublisher, etc ... and then allow the Book class to only be able to access a few of these functions? Is there a way to define in the Book class, which functions in the Reference class that it is allowed to access? I hope I have explained it clear enough... Thanks, Dan