• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Side Winder

Scaled Model of the Solar System in DirectX

This topic is 4232 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

For someone with no prior knowledge of DirectX, do you think this is a realistic project to complete in a few months? I've been using C++ for about 9 months now and want to move onto a graphical library of some sort.

Advertisement
It's impossible to say with such a vague description. Can you give more detail as to what you will be trying to acheive.

Dave

Yeah... I want to have all the planets (include Pluto...) and the Sun scaled down with the planets rotating as well as orbiting the Sun. The planets would rotate and orbit at their real-life speed. I want to add textures to each of the planet (nothing facny, but enough to distinguish them). I'd like the orbits to be realistic too but I'm not sure how difficult that is (considering, I think Neptune and Pluto cross at some point??). Erm... Can't really think what else would need to be added.

You have to be aware of the scale at which you're going to work. The aphelion of Pluto is about 7 billion kilometers, which already doesn't fit into a common 32-bit number. Increasing the unit size will make you lose the ability to represent smaller objects or velocities, so there is your dilemma. You possibly have to look into some hybrid approach.

BTW Pluto never collides with Neptune. They run in a 2:3 orbital resonance, which means that for every three orbits Neptune completes, Pluto does two. Then the sequence repeats. Oh I love cosmology and Wikipedia :)

Quote:
Original post by Prototype