Sign in to follow this  

DirectX draw simple 2D shapes inside a Sprite (C#)

This topic is 3862 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi guys! Maybe someone think this is a stupid question, but i'm a novice, and i really need help ;). I can't figure out how to draw basic 2D shapes like rectangle, circle, line,... inside a sprite. Does anyone know how to help me? PS: C# code would be preferred, but C++ it's also Ok. Thanks to eveyone! Have a nice day.

The easiest way to do this is to use an image editor and save a texture to disk of whatever shape you want, with an alpha channel. Then just draw a quad (sprite) with your texture on it. You don't draw 'inside' the sprite, you draw the sprite itself!

For Materwork:
That's a good idea, but it's not really "friendly using".
I mean, what if i have to draw a line indide a rectangle near a circle?
I would have to load 3 Texture, set it to the needed position and scale 'em adeguatelly.
Uhm...what do u think about that?

For Dave:
Yes i do. I want do draw inside my sprite some basic shape like cicle, lines, etc..

Thanks 4 reply!
Hope u can help me.
Have a nice day.

Ok, if you want to do it on the fly you'll need a different strategy. Your use of the word 'sprite' threw me off, because its often easier to use a sprite in a game then to program/model geometry for small objects.

Are you trying to use Direct3D for this? If so you'll probably need to create a texture, then lock it and update it with your shape procedurally (using whatever algorithms you want to come up with the final pixel/texel colors). Then you would unlock the texture, set it as the device's current texture, and render your quad with it.