Synthesised audio gaming applications?

Started by
3 comments, last by eoinmullan 16 years, 10 months ago
Hi all, I am currently doing a PhD on physically informed audio synthesis for virtual environments. This means creating a virtual environment in which all the sounds effects that are heard are synthesised from information on the objects involved in creating the sound e.g. dimensions, weight, material, and how the objects collided, e.g. velocity, impact location. Two reasons I have for undertaking this work are: i) To create a more immersive environment because sound effects should be more realistic and the same sound would not be heard more than once as is the case when sound samples are used. ii) To speed up the process of prototyping and creating games as a sound designer will not have create a sound sample for every case sound is required. I am interested in finding ideas from gamers and game designers/creators for how physically informed audio synthesis could enhance a game by making things possible that aren't possible with sampled sounds. Can anyone think of scenarios where subtle differences in sounds contain information needed to progress/succeed? I would aim to create these scenarios as a means to demonstrate my research work. All suggestions are welcomed, Many Thanks, Eoin
Advertisement
Just as a comment, some game physics engines already manage objects as dimensions, weight, material.

Of the top of my head, I can imagine a game where you have to slightly modify the density of an object to solve something (gravitational puzzles?) and the easiest way of showing this density change could be by sound.

Something like "*ding*, *ding*, *dinng*, *dinng*, *binnng*, *binnnggg*. That's it. Throw the steel ball".