Sign in to follow this  
vanhensbergent

Need Help With Beginning Mobile Development

I have been a software developer for five years now. I have mainly worked with C++ and java. While I have no profesional game development experience, I have worked on quite a few indie projects. However, lately I have been intrested in starting my own mobile game company. I have some great ideas however I am unsure of how to implement them. What companies publish mobile games? Which are the most reliable. What will these publishers expect out of my prodect. Whats the best IDE for mobile development. How will I be able to support the most ammount of phones. I know I will have to program in J2ME, are there any good books for this? Any good starting information would be greatly appreciated. Also, how do I test applications I create?

Quote:
Original post by vanhensbergent
I have been a software developer for five years now. I have mainly worked with C++ and java. While I have no profesional game development experience, I have worked on quite a few indie projects. However, lately I have been intrested in starting my own mobile game company. I have some great ideas however I am unsure of how to implement them.

Good luck, the mobile industry is a great place for small developers to get their feet wet. The development cycles are significantly less than PC/Console (usually 6-10 months), also the costs are significantly lower as well. Although, the major cost for most publishers/developers is the cost of the handsets they need to test on.

Quote:
What companies publish mobile games? Which are the most reliable.

Here is a good article from Telephia regarding the mobile industry, it shows how much revenue there is to be made. Also, in the article is a list of the top 10 publishers in the United States.

Quote:
What will these publishers expect out of my prodect.