[.net] A simple question about get/set.... C# .NET

Started by
20 comments, last by Kaze 16 years, 10 months ago
ok here is a newb question about the new(in C#, im a C++ programmer) get/sets... say I have: class SomeFoo; class Foo { private SomeFoo sfFOO = new SomeFoo(); public SomeFoo SomeFOO{ get{ return sfFOO ; } set{ sfFOO = value; } } } How do I make sure that when I return sfFOO that they can only SEE it and not change it, sorta like static was used in C++? I know its passing back a reference but I want it to send back a value, or rather a reference but not have it copy or clone and take up double the memory.... So to make things clear, I want them to be able to set it and see it easily but not be able to change it outside of the Foo class. Sorry for the newb question but I cant seem to find anything on the get/set stuff that dives further in.. Thanks, Brad
--X
Advertisement
Sorry, I'll not be answering you but I'm having the exact same question here!

I fear that no such protection exists as const member function and const function parameters do not exist in C#. Maybe they destroyed the whole "const object" concept? From my point of view that'd be big a mistake.

Anyways, I'm still curious about the actual answer.
This MSDN guy says :

Quote:Original text by Eric Gunnerson
My number one biggest desire in C#, or complaint (if you choose)... Are we ever going to see const methods, objects and properties? I'm one of those who basically think languages we should actually be delimiting non-const items, and having everything default to const, but even though there are work-arounds, not having a const specifier I think encourages people (like me) to be lazy and write really dangerous code!

I think that this confirms the fact that C# has absolutely no const objects/references mechanism. A documentation page explaining this would still be nice.