Sign in to follow this  

Likelihood of landing a job in GD?

This topic is 3851 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Is there a large demand for game developers? Finishing my junior year in high school, I've come to the realization that there isn't really anything else that I would rather be doing. I've got a good shot of getting into a decent college (several APs and expecting a good SAT score based on my PSAT), and I've already got plenty of experience in computers in general (this is the fourth PC I've built, and I've self-taught myself several languages from programming to web design, et cetera). I've had multiple dreams of career paths, but this is the only one that really has stood the test of time. I can't really picture myself happy doing anything else. So, I mean, I've got the ambition, but is there any room for me in the world of game development?

If you get a college degree and gain skills in one of many relevant disciplines (programming, 3D modeling, music composition/SFX, business) then of course there is room. It's a booming industry; new jobs are made open all the time.

Is there a guaranteed place? If you don't work hard will there be a job? Of course not. You might be angry and swear at people in interviews and then you wouldn't get hired. You might have to start in kentucky. etc.

Since you are only in high school, there are almost zero career paths in the world that are out of your reach.

-me

I just got really lucky. I am a junior in high school and I was taking some classes at the college near my house. My professor knows one of the guys working on Second Life and suggested me to work their for the summer, I don't know if I got it yet, it is down to me and another guy. It isn't bad though 15 dollars and hour for a 17 year olds summer job.