Creating an executable

Started by
10 comments, last by pulpfist 16 years, 10 months ago
Hey guys, im a degree student in games development, Had a bit of trouble this year when i was handing in one of my coding assignments. I could not get the game to run off the disk. Usually when i want to look at one of my games i can just go to debug folder and click the .exe file there. However, when i put all the files (.sln, .obj, .cpp etc....) files on the disk the game wouldnt run. Had to have my lecturer take the code and compile it himself. Can anyone shed any light on how to create an executable without having to compile again and again on different machines P.S. Im using Visual Studio 2005.
---Terence Burns---
Advertisement
Are you using the express edition of visual studio 2005?
--------------------Enigmatic Coding
no, full version
---Terence Burns---
Do you have all of your resources with the exe (that is, if you have resources)?
Quote:Original post by anothrguitarist
Do you have all of your resources with the exe (that is, if you have resources)?

yea, i have all the resources in a folder thats linked to the file, when i added them to the disk i had the media folder in this folder with the executable in the debug folder

Folder Image
---Terence Burns---
I wish I could help, but I don't know the answer. I don't want to lead you in the wrong direction either, so I'll leave it up to the more able members help you.

Good luck.
Quote:Original post by anothrguitarist
I wish I could help, but I don't know the answer. I don't want to lead you in the wrong direction either, so I'll leave it up to the more able members help you.

Good luck.

Thanks anyway mate, ;-)
---Terence Burns---
.cpp and .h files are text files that contain your code. They do nothing for the final .exe, and you don't want to be distributing them (unless you want to, so people can modidy your code).