Sign in to follow this  
caldiar

MS Outlook + Travel Alert

Hey everyone. I'm back yet again and still working on my old game project but that's grinding to a halt as I've been asked out of the blue a peculiar request - Unfortunately I can't go into the details of what is wanted (and I feel quite silly for not giving as much info as I could since it would help you guys help me) but here's the basics: I need to make a program that checks two or more peoples' calendars in MS Outlook and compare the two with each other. I need to be able to then alert all the people involved of any possible matches with another person. Seeing as how all of my background is in game programming I thought this would be quite refreshing to try tackling. I haven't told my friend that Id make this program yet. I wanted to get a demo whipped together to show him before creating false expectations. The actual question is - what is the best way to design this? Would I want to have the program be installed on every computer that is using it or would I want the program to run on a server that then connects to the clients' outlook accounts to perform the comparision? Is there a language best suited for this kind of thing? I've only really ever used C and C++ to any extent past "Hello World". Any shoves in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys!

I would assume the best language would be VB for Applications, since Office apps are often scripted with that.

I think you also need to figure out how you get access to someone else's calendar, presumably stored on a remote machine.

I expect Outlook has some functionality for this sort of thing built in, to be honest.

You're in for a world of pain my friend. Working with Outlook means working with MAPI. MAPI is incredibly powerful and general, but it's also got an incredibly steep learning curve.