Sign in to follow this  

[.net] how to import .lib files in your C# project(managed C# and unmanaged C/C++)

This topic is 3842 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi all i am brand new to C# and am trying to do basic stuff like use 3rd party libraries to include in my project. since there is no #include like in C++ i need to know how to be able to use a .lib file and its associating .dll file. i tried the using keyword like this: using glu32.lib;(as just an example) but it tells me that that the namespace name could not be found even though i include the directory where the file resides in the project properties settings. what do you i need to do and how does the .dll play into all this? if i dont want to put the .dll inside win32 does it need to be in the project directory like in C++ or can it be in the same reference directory as the .lib file? thanks for your input! [Edited by - OpenGL_Guru on June 4, 2007 10:49:03 AM]

Quote:

since there is no #include like in C++ i need to know how to be able to use a .lib file and its associating .dll file.

Nitpick: #include is for textual substitution of other files; it does not have anything to do with linking against .lib files.

To answer your question: you don't.

You can't just take any random .lib file and link against it. In C#, you reference assemblies, which are contained in .dll files. You have to right-click the References folder in the Solution Explorer, choose Add Reference, and browse to the reference you want to add.

Not all .dll files are assemblies; if you want to make use of OpenGL, for example, you'll have to obtain an assembly that is a managed wrapper around the native GL class. The Tao framework is one example.

Quote:
Original post by jpetrie
Quote: