Sign in to follow this  
FinalShot

FMV Scenes?

Still in the begginings of learning C++, I started playing Final Fantasy 8 on PC (after 6 years) and some questions sprang up. How do they create those FMV scenes at random times within the game? How do they design the models, then how they actually create the movie-style motions (Characters jumping around attacking etc). Also, how long would you say it took? Such an interesting part of the FF Saga I must say. Thanks for all replies.

These scenes were probably pre-rendered in the same manner as Toy Story. A large animation studio probably designed each character model very diligently. They then give each character a very specific set of instructions that tell it how to move and when. Once this is done, a rather large computer farm spends a very large amount of time determining how each frame looks. Once that is done, the frames are put together in some sort of file (such as a mov or avi) and displayed on your computer.

There are a lot of tricks to getting things to look very lifelike. One of these is motion capture: I'm sure you've seen some documentary or something on it, it's where they attach all the pingpong balls to a person and they move how they want the models to move.

I remember reading somewhere that toy story took several hundred computers two years of constant computing in order to finish the film. I don't think the movies in any of the FF games approach the quality of toy story and their combined total running time is likely much shorter, not to mention that computer hardware has advanced significantly, so it probably took a somewhat shorter amount of time.

I'm not sure if you are talking about FF8 specifically, or FMV in game in general.