Sign in to follow this  

New GUI API project in the works

This topic is 3835 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have been browsing this site for quite some time, but never got around to actually registering an account. Welcome to my first post here. (Yeah I guess that means I'm a noob.) Over the last couple months I have been busy working on what started out as a simple GUI system to use for prototyping game ideas, but has become something a bit more. What I intended at first was a simple class to wrapper the the d3d device to cleanly handle lost/reset device states and a simple object oriented Gui framework. It has become a bit more than that. As it is now, it not only wrappers the d3d device and provides a Gui framework, it also has API functions to save/load dialogs to and from XML format. The system is event based with (or even without) callback functions. The API also includes functions to easily implement a fully functional external c/c++/c# style scripting language that can compile scripts at runtime or load pre-compiled scripts. Makes it easy to make your app fully "modable" by the end user. Although the project is a ways from completion, I finally got around to putting together a preliminary demo and thought I'd share it with you folks here for the potential input. Heres a cropped screen shot: demo screenshot I recently started putting a documentation website together for the project. You can download a demo and/or working libraries from there. D3D GUI Documentation Site [Edited by - Haiduk67 on June 5, 2007 2:26:19 AM]