Sign in to follow this  

XNA in AAA games

This topic is 3841 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm not a newbie to game dev but I'm new to XNA stuff. Is it possible to use XNA to make games in the class of Halo, Half Life, Need For Speed or Fifa? I've read that XNA is for hobbists (and people in that circle). If XNA is not good for these types of games please tell me why or direct me to an article that talks about that. Thanks.

Yes, you could probably make Halo or any other game using XNA. And in a console generation or two the XNA game would run about as quick as current Halo written in C++

There is nothing stopping you from making a AAA game in XNA. In fact, Microsoft would probably love you for doing so :). But the framework itself is powerful and considering how powerful the Xbox 360 is (and that XNA has access to 4 of the 6 hardware threads), I don't see why XNA on an Xbox 360 couldn't get at least to the quality of Halo on Xbox. Seems quite possible.

I think, if you have the resources, you could build a pretty decent game with XNA. I haven't used XNA myself, but I know that large game studios tend to want to have control of nearly anything that happens on the system (memory allocations, cache misses etc.), especially on console. Therefore I would actually think XNA would be too high-level for any studio that makes AAA-games.

P.S. 1+1=10, of course, not 11. [wink]

So in about 2 years there will be no need to buy the XBox Developement Kit(XDK)? If we still have to buy it then what does it offer that XNA doesn't? I've read that code for XNA on XBox should be 100% c# or managed c++, and that's why the old newton physics SDK had to be rewritten for XNA.

As far as I know you can't use Managed C++ with XNA and make games for the XBox 360. I am fairly sure that you can only use C# currently.