Sign in to follow this  
cemedias

level format for irrlicht

I was wondering what the best level format to use with the Irrlicht engine would be? I'm using 3d World Studio to make the levels. Right now I'm using the .x format. Does anyone know if I can use lightmaps with .x? I was going to use IrrEdit, but it runs excruciatingly slow on my computer. I'd like to use a format that 3d World Studio exports to (like: b3d, dbo, txt, fy, wmp, map, x). I'm not very experienced so I don't really know which format is best. If anybody can suggest any other level editors that might be better than 3d World Studio, that would be great. BTW, I'm not sure if this is helpful or not, but the levels I'm making are non-animated quake-like levels; I'm making my own textures; and I'm planning on using lightmaps (instead of coding each individual light in the game with Irrlicht. All help is appreciated, thanks.

Irrlicht supports Quake 3 BSP maps so you could hop over to qeradiant.com and download GTK Radiant for Quake 3, and you could also check out Bubba's Arena for some pretty good Radiant mapping tutorials. As for loading Q3 BSP's in Irrlicht, I believe a sample program to do this comes with the engine.

Good luck :)

Sorry for not replying for a couple days.