Sign in to follow this  

nintendo ds programming question

This topic is 3847 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a win32 systems programmer and most of my life I've done mainly c++ and assembly code. I just got a job to help with a 3d renderer on a nds and lo and behold I'm the main programmer. I've done lots of stuff like this before with c++ but for the nds every tutorial and demo code I see is in c. As I look at the specs of the hardware I'm really worried that c++ wont be able to cut it. I've also heard the arm processors dont do well with lots of virtual calls and general OOP bloat(which is not a problem on desktops). I really dont want to write a whole engine and then find it's too slow, do you think I should just write this whole engine in c from the very beginning? Experienced console programmers, i look forward to hearing your opinions. Also the reason to my reluctance is because I am an oop whore.

Most of what you need to be careful about is memory usage; I think you've got 4 MB of RAM to work with, so vanilla C++ is right out. However...

C++ written in a certain way, and with an appropriate runtime or compiler, is perfectly acceptable. C is used because there is an appropriate runtime and compiler written already; there is none such for C++.

If you feel you must use C++, then look for a runtime for it. Mostly, that means a memory allocator and a CRT to bootstrap into your C++/ASM code, or if you're lucky there's a complete library for even the hardware access through C++.

Either way, I'd suggest you learn C. It is far more likely a C library and bootstrap exists for the DS than a C++ one, and you don't want to write a cross-compiler (from C++ to C, not x86 to ARM) yourself.