Sign in to follow this  
anubhab123

Hello everyone(question on a tutorial)

Hello everyone.I'm rather new to DirectX and i've had some experience coding in C/C++.I've wanted to try to program in Direct3D for some time and see what i can do with it so I decided to look online for tutorials and www.Directxtutorial.com seemed pretty decent to me so I began learning lesson by lesson and coding along with the lessons and trying some of the exercises.So far i've been able to plot a few vertices and make them into a triangle.I've also been able to do transformations of various kinds on them including scaling,translating,rotating.I've also learned how to control the camera and various aspects of it. But in a recent lesson I became confused about a few things the author of the tutorial said to do as exercises.I was going to email the author with my questions however he recommends on his website that I post here first. the tutorial i'm on is http://www.directxtutorial.com/Tutorial9/B-Direct3DBasics/dx9B5.aspx at the end of the tutorial he lists a few exercises that we should do to familiarize ourselves.I'm not sure if i can tell whether he wants us to do each and every exercise on the sample code he provided or he wants us to do them sequentially and make each of the changes as we go along. The other thing I was also concerned about was how good a tutorial would you say that this website is in terms of how much it covers and how indepth it is.It seems like alot of stuff and rather detailed and in depth but I don't know how big the DirectX API really is.If perhaps there are some other tutorials any of you would recommend it would be greatly appreciated. -Thanks alot [Edited by - anubhab123 on June 6, 2007 10:10:13 PM]

anub,