Sign in to follow this  
skaldicpoet9

Beginning Developer Using C# and XNA -Help

Hey everyone I am new to game development and am wondering if someone can give me a few pointers? I have installed XNA Game Studio Express and C# Express as well. I have also got myself a few C# books to reference from. My question is what do I do now...should I go directly into trying to make games or should I just start out by making simple programs? I want to make games (eventually) but I also want to be able to make programs for Windows eventually as well. I am thinking that I should try to make some small Windows apps and then move on to game apps....or is it better to go straight into game dev? One last question about XNA (if anyone knows) are you able to play XNA Games without the XNA framework (like a regular Windows game app) or does the person who is playing the game need the XNA framework? Anyways thanks everyone I look forward to your responses.

Quote:
Original post by skaldicpoet9
Hey everyone I am new to game development and am wondering if someone can give me a few pointers? I have installed XNA Game Studio Express and C# Express as well. I have also got myself a few C# books to reference from. My question is what do I do now...should I go directly into trying to make games or should I just start out by making simple programs? I want to make games (eventually) but I also want to be able to make programs for Windows eventually as well. I am thinking that I should try to make some small Windows apps and then move on to game apps....or is it better to go straight into game dev? One last question about XNA (if anyone knows) are you able to play XNA Games without the XNA framework (like a regular Windows game app) or does the person who is playing the game need the XNA framework? Anyways thanks everyone I look forward to your responses.