Sign in to follow this  

torque game engine/script

This topic is 3841 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi i was woundering what the general concensus for the torque game engine was. Also the c++ 'like' torque scripting language it uses. I am only a beginner but would like to at least try and make a few simple 2d/3d games is this a good enough engine? thanx for any comments

ok thanx for that but is that all it can create a few simple fps games? as my skills progress i was hoping that the games would progress. At what level would i have to use something other than torque?

No you can create any game with it. The engine is open source and your free to edit it to your likeing to fit your needs. Tribes was made with Torque and Tribes 2 was made with Torque Advanced. Try a demo of those if you can find, theyre very fun to play.
Basically you could use Torque at any level. With it being open source theres no limit to what you can do. You can even buy a Xbox 360 license through contacting GarageGames and make a 360 game.

Quote:
Original post by pplzperson
The engine is open source and your free to edit it to your likeing to fit your needs.

I'm sorry, but unless I missed something somewhere, Torque is definitely not open source.

Quote:
Original post by dingdong
hi i was woundering what the general concensus for the torque game engine was. Also the c++ 'like' torque scripting language it uses. I am only a beginner but would like to at least try and make a few simple 2d/3d games is this a good enough engine?
thanx for any comments