Sign in to follow this  
alan2here

One pass per frame light maps?

It's just an idea. It may be more novel that practical, however I really wanted to air it for descussion. I posted in this forum as I am new to serious game coding. If it would be better in another forum please feal free to move it. How it could work: The idea is for light to start from light sources (sky, lights, candle, glowing stuff etc..) and many rays of light travel before the first frame of rendering outward to land on objects. Each texel in the enviroment then remebers the averege angle of movement, colour and brightness of all the rays that land on it as a single value (so infomation is lost here). Light which enters a block on the players head (there eyes) gets desplayed on the screen (more on how this works further down). The first frame is drawn to the screen which will always just contain mostly black with some verry bright bits where light sources are. Then the light stored in each texel is projected onto the aprorate surfaces based on the information stored in each texel. We have lost lots of rays here as each texel only stored averege information (the lights also project new light again). Some rays which are now less bright enter the eyes as well as some new ones from the lights (which in turn will ajust the infomation in each texel). The next frame is drawn which now contains more infomation, it is still verry odd looking. It won't be untill about the 3rd frame when the view will look more normal. Probbable Advanteges: The information stored at one time is always at a manegable amount The number of calculations each frame is always at a manegable amount Reflective surfaces can simply reflect a higher percentege of light Surfaces that need to defuse light only need to scatter it more randomly You can move light sources or objects about and maintain realitic shadows Propper HDR with aperture that will ajust gradually to difrent averege light over the view and blur that is relitive to