DirectX/XNA Camera Problem

Started by
5 comments, last by jpetrie 16 years, 10 months ago
Hi, I'm a complete newbie to writing 3D games and I was curious, when setting up the camera to view a simple mesh on screen, why when I positioned the camera to look straight down from above the mesh, everything goes invisible. If I make even the *slightest angle* away from directly above the target position of the camera, then everything displays fine however. Is this what's meant to happen - if so could someone briefly explain why please. Otherwise, is there another way to make it visible even from a top-down perspective? Here's the important part of my code for setting up the camera: effect.World = transforms[mesh.ParentBone.Index] * Matrix.CreateRotationY(modelRotation) * Matrix.CreateTranslation(modelPosition); effect.View = Matrix.CreateLookAt(cameraPosOffset + cameraPosition, cameraPosition, Vector3.Up); effect.Projection = Matrix.CreatePerspectiveFieldOfView(MathHelper.ToRadians(45.0f), aspectRatio, 1f, 1000.0f); Thanks in advance.
Advertisement
I'm not certain but it sounds like this would be caused by looking straight at the direction of your up vector.

If your up vector is 0,1,0 and you have your camera look at this position then you won't see anything. Try changing your up vector to 1,0,0 or 0,0,1 as a test with your camera looking straight at the model. If you see your model then you are definitely looking at the wrong direction with your camera. Change your orientation and you'll be set.

Otherwise, let us know and I'm sure you'll get some more assistance.

Webby
WebsiteWill's on the right track.