Sign in to follow this  

QA testing as a stepping stone

This topic is 3839 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

A friend of my wife's family is a systems architect and ex-programmer, and he discussed briefly with me about getting in to a programming career (specifically, game programming). He suggested I look for a Quality Assurance position to get started, that way future employers could see I have experience as an end-user. However, after reading a site on gamecareerguide.com, they talked about how many expect it as a stepping stone and don't do well. Is finding a job as a game tester a reliable way to get your foot in the door for a future game development position? I'm currently in my second year towards my A.A. degree, eventually going on to get my Bachelor's in Computer Science. ***EDIT*** I know I should have poked around the site a bit more before posting this thread, but I just read Tom Sloper's article on his site which answered many of my questions. However, any other input would be appriciated :)

No, getting a job as a game tester is not a guaranteed way to get your foot in the door for higher positions. But I understand, you've already seen my advice, you know I think it's one of the good ways to break in, and that's not good enough for you. (-_-)

Any experience is good. If you're still in school, getting into QA during the summer break is a great way to get some experience and make connections. Lots of companies hire short-term QA guys, so do send in your resume.

I've known plenty of developers that have made the jump from QA to design, production or (to a lesser extent) code.