Sign in to follow this  

Game engine classes question

This topic is 3858 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Rather than having long convoluted source files I am trying to organize my engine a little better. This is my first attempt at a from scratch class based engine. Currently my code looks something like this. However I wanted to use a resource manager and an entity system. I also had questions on how data would get between the logic and other systems. I suppose I could have a game state class. Currently I am using no inheritance. Any one have any suggestions or links to good articles on engine structuring. Thanks.

And WHY aren't you using any inheritance? Seems just dumb to me (not saying I'm a pro, but it does save me a lot of time, in a lot of things). And a Game state class is what I've used for this sort of thing, makes it easy to test for a good deal of things.

I should have said "I'm not using any inheritance yet" meaning none of the classes in the diagram derive from each other at this time. Still trying to figure out the organization.

1. Use inheritence only if needed.
2. Use singletons for Config, Console and other subsystems that don't need to have more than one instance.
3. Usually game logic is on top of the engine (uses an instance of the engine) and not a property of the engine itself.

Quote:
Original post by Dekasa
And WHY aren't you using any inheritance? Seems just dumb to me.

That's a bit harsh isn't it? You're saying it's dumb for him to not use it, but don't explain why he should. As Rimio said, inheritance is just a tool - you don't use a screwdriver to hit nails.

Quote:
Original post by Rimio
2. Use singletons for Config, Console and other subsystems that don't need to have more than one instance.

There's been a lot of arguments on here about singletons.