• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
hakanpersson

3d Artist asking

This topic is 4057 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello there GameDev. I have a question that I have tried to find for some time. I work as a Technical Artist, which means making alot technical desicions. Most of the time - things very hard for me to know for sure. I am looking for a good knowledgebases and/or articles, more of the theory behind, than the code itself. Preferrably aimed towards the artist. Hope it was ok to ask this here, because on the opposite side of the 3d artist is often the graphic programmer:) For examle I have been looking for in-depth articles about which texture format to use, impact on performance etc. Articles like these are really nice: http://www.ericchadwick.com/examples/provost/byf1.html You really have to ask programmers, but I don't have anyone around me that knows these things that well, and often answers seem to vary completely depending who you ask. And I can only make assumptions what happens inside various vertex/pixel programs and so forth. cheers /Håkan

Advertisement