• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Christopher Harris

Impulse Physics confusion...

This topic is 4205 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ello, everyone. So I'm about to start programming a simple (2d) physics example. While I have worked with physics engines before, and know basically what's happening and when, This is my first time programming my own. I'd like to use impulse based physics, and for starters I'm only going to implement spheres. From there I'll add custom convex shapes (defined by a list of points). Most likely I'll use a seperating axis method for my collision detection. So here's my confusion. 1.) Assuming I'm using impulse physics, and all convex shapes, how many collision points would an object have (min, max)? I've seen examples where 2 objects are overlapping, and the collision point is somewhere inside the overlap. I've also seen examples where 2 points are located either both on the overlapping edges, or one inside the overlap and another on the edge. 2.) I just need to learn a lot more about impulse based physics. Anyone?

Advertisement
1) you shouldn't have more than 2 collision points (for when two edges are colliding). However, generating these contact points is usually a pain (unless you're using spheres as you said). What I try to do is for each colliding "point," to have a colliding point on each body. Basically, each contact point will have a point on body 1, a point on body 2, and the collision normal. This makes it so that your impulse calculations are physically correct. Besides, you can always find the midpoint of these two points to get the average contact point for both bodies.