• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Delryn

Directx? MDX1.1? MDX2.0? XNA? Wtf?

This topic is 4116 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello guys! I'm a programmer who startet programming games with direct draw. Then, after a few years I tried several new attempts with MDX 1.1 und MDX 2.0, which was alot more easier to use and looked really fine to me. At the moment I am a little bit confused, I have read that the development of MDX 2.0 was stopped, because the programmers were assembled to the XNA-Project. I read that MDX 2.0 & 1.1 are dead, XNA is the future. But XNA does not seem to be for professionals, I always read something about "easy use, for students, xbox360"... and you need this special Visual Studio Version... Considering that windows vista was designed for .Net-Code, which DirectX should I use for my new projects? C++ Directx? MDX 1.1? XNA? What's the future? Thanks for helping

Advertisement
MDX 1.1 isn't dead, it just isn't going to be updated, but it's still a solid wrapper over DirectX 9. MDX 2.0 is dead, I don't even think it'll work any more since they "time bombed" it. XNA is similar to MDX 2.0 except it'll work on an XBOX 360, but it also requires you use Visual C# Express(which IMO sucks). My advice is to try XNA, if you don't like it stick to MDX, there's nothing really wrong with it.

Quote:

What's the future?

None of those. DX10 is the present for C++ and XNA/MDX(both DX9) for C#. What the future is, nobody really knows. I hope they fix the problems with XNA, or that Promit's SlimDX will fix Microsofts failure to continue with MDX.

Quote:
Original post by Scet

... I hope they fix the problems with XNA ...