• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Roosh

Game programming newb...a few questions!

This topic is 4079 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys, I am new to these forums and the GameDev community. I am currently a novice in the C++ language, with a year of experience under my belt. However, classes in college only teach me rough things like data structures, operating systems, etc... I really would like to learn to program games. I would like to start a group at school where we can get together and learn how to program games and mods for existing games. I believe that the best way to learn how to be a better programmer is by learning to program games. It takes skills in many different subjects to program even basic games. I want to become more familiar with how linear algebra is implemented, as well as physics and graphics. I am hungry for this "know how" but I don't know where to start. I have browsed for game development books, but I don't want to simply follow what is on the pages of a book. I WANT TO LEARN!! So I have a couple of questions that I hope you all will be able to answer. 1) I have experience in C++ and Visual Studio 2005, what type of game would be good to write to get my feet wet? I would like to start with a project that can be finished fairly quickly, since school coding projects will take all my time during fall and spring semesters. 2) DirectX or OpenGL? I have tried in vain to find the openGL libraries for mac or PC. The ones I have found I was unable to use because of poor documentation. I hope I was clear as to what I want to do. Thanks in advance!! Chris

Advertisement