• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
carlsfinch

Mac, Good for programming?

This topic is 4039 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am a PC user, and after watching WWDC2007 key notes; I am definitely sure I want to buy a Mac since I am a student, and I get a discount, but because of John Carmack's ID Tech 05 Engine he is deploying/been secretly making for the past 2 years for Mac users, and the announcement of other games going to the Mac, and the Leopard OS itself. But, is it good for programming? What benefits does it offer programemrs? I'm sure I'll have to let go of DirectX if I buy a Mac, and start programming on Mac, but how strong is the field for developers on Mac's, could I make games for PSP, Nintendo DS, Windows, web, etc...? What IDE/Compiler would I have to pick up if I buy a Mac I'm quite new to Mac's and just downloaded Safari for Windows, it's awesome. I'm switching, but only if I can continue my game developing career I am pursuing. Please send me links, and suggestions on this matter. Thanks,

Advertisement
I think you have to use objective C? Don't know much about it, just googled "game programming mac" and came up with this:

http://www.idevgames.com/ : The Mac Game Developing Community

They might be of more help...

James

Macs are great for programming in my opinion.