Where to start programming

Started by
7 comments, last by mntlinstituteflr 16 years, 10 months ago
Hello, I've been an artist for some 3 years now and just felt that maybe I'm missing something in game development. To make this shorter, where can I begin game programming? I know some vb.net, C#, and C++, but I'd like to begin C++ game programming, where can I start?
Advertisement
I know you want to start programming in c++, but I would recommend taking a look at c# with XNA. It will be a lot easier to get started and begin learning some of the concepts of game programming which you can later apply to c++ if you still find you enjoy programming.
Alright, but what is XNA exactly? And where can I find some information on it?
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/xna/default.aspx

XNA is sort of the next rendition of managed directx with a lot of extra stuff to make game programming a little easier. At least that's what I've gathered from it, I haven't tried it out myself yet but have heard tons of good things about it from people.
Hey, just a thought, be wary about recommending something you haven't tried out yet. You don't have a context with which to make the recommendation with it. Meaning, it might be easy to make games with, but might not be the easiest thing to start with for a beginner guy.

- Goishin
Don't worry, I have enough experience to recommend XNA, and to know that it would be a lot easier to start with then going the directx with c++ route.

I understand where you're coming from though if I was a n00b with no experience.

*edit* I should also add, while I haven't used it in a project I have looked over the API and gone through the documentation to see what it had to offer in the past.
Quote:Original post by Dancin_Fool
I understand where you're coming from though if I was a n00b with no experience.

I am what I am. I looked into XNA, are there any good tutorials on it? Besides the ones on Microsoft's website?