• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
silverphyre673

How do you deal with graphics & sound management?

This topic is 4187 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

One of the biggest issues I've had since I moved from writing text-based games to writing graphical games is the issue of storing, managing, and rendering graphics, sound, and other resources. I've never really come across a good way to handle storing said resources in a way that doesn't require me to hardcode what resource files are being used where. I'm thinking about c++, my language of choice, but if you have other responses not tied to that language, that would be awesome too. I've looked at the code for other games, and at the files used in professional games. Planescape: Torment (I just started playing it, and that game rocks. Try it.) has a sort of homebrewed scripting file. This file describes, for each type of creature in the game, a specific set of possible actions the creature could take (walking, attacking, etc) and ties that action to a separate resource file. That's all well and good. What confuses me especially is what you do with the resources once you've got them loaded into memory. How do you separate that graphics code from your game code? For example, if you have, say, a "Creature" class that represents any creature in the game world, and an "Object" class that can be any sort of non-moving object (a building, an item on the ground etc), how would you go about separating how the objects interact from how they render themselves? This is a pretty generic example, I know, but I hope you understand what I mean. It seems difficult and unwieldly to do this in an object-oriented manner. Please let me know if this is too rambling, as I'm posting at 1:00 AM and need some sleep. I'll check up on this thread in the morning and clean up my post. Thanks for read