• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Elenesski

Graphics Adapter Strategies

This topic is 4070 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

A good 12 months ago I starting thinking about writing a game. At that time, I wrote a back story to the premise and started down the grand game writing path trying to do elaboration on the graphics aspects where I've been preliminarily stuck. These days I have a different angle on the story (same concept) which would enable a broader playing style. I have little experience with graphics implementations, so rather than spinning my wheels in the sand, I've decided that I'll work on the game mechanics; make that fun to play, then work on the graphics in a much later stage with a game developer/publisher (assuming I get that far). I have expert level object-oriented design, development with patterns and system level enterprise component architecture experience; temper your responses with that in mind. My question is if I do not pick a graphics engine to start with and work only on the mechanics and assuming that my design is competent and high quality, would a potential game developer be more apt to writing adapters to their graphics engine to hook up my game, or should I assume the game (if bought) it will be rewritten in order to support a graphics model because they are so heavily intertwined? Or are their architectural strategies I should consider in order to facilitate the development of the various adapters? I'm assuming that game design/development is really no different than enterprise application design/development in the sense that the user interface is just a "shell" on top of a domain (aka the game engine).

Advertisement