• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
claestw

SDL and OpenGL: Lost in texture mapping and learning direction

This topic is 4041 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm new to game programming (in fact, haven't programmed seriously for more than ten years) and wanted to pick it up again. I worked through some SDL and some OpenGL tutorials, and sort of set on a simple first goal. But I see a split in front of me and I'm a little lost as to which way to go: go SDL for 2D stuff and leave OpenGL to the 3D projects? Or carry on using OpenGL for 2D. My goal is a basically 2D interactive novel kind of project. For each "scene" of the story, there will be one fixed background image, numerous character images that will get moved around and scaled and perhaps animated as the story unfolds, and one layer of UI right at the front for things like bookmarking (save/load) and choosing which way to go when the story comes to a branching point etc. From around the web I read that OpenGL can be used to accelerate and simplify a lot of the 2D operations, such as depth testing, overlaying UI stuff on a scene, accelerated scaling and rotation of my character images (each of which may take up say a third of the screen space), and also I'll be able to use particle effects and other 3D polygon-based special effects. I prepared a few images (704x396) that I captured off a video just for testing, and created an OpenGL window of the same size. I loaded the images first using glTexImage2D() outside my main loop, and have only the following in the loop: 1. Event polling 2. On release of spacebar, bind the next image to a QUAD and draw QUAD 3. SwapBuffers Using orthogonal projection and binding the image to a GL_QUAD, the images are displayed perfectly but each image takes more than half a second to display. Someone suggested to me that I should scale my