• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
trapdoor

[web] I've come to a crossroads

This topic is 4135 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have come to a point where I need to choose what the actual game runs in. Flash, Java, a combination of javascript with Ajax calls and standard HTML, Ajax revamp, or other. I have little knowledge of Flash and my Java is REALLY rusty. I coded something for school but that was over 6 years ago. I'd have to refresh myself on compiling, and writing java applets. All solutions will make http calls to a php file which returns XML. I'm doing this to make the site and it's various versions standard in the data it uses. I'm unsure to which I should use. On the one hand, the Ajax solution already exists for the original site. It will need to be tweaked to work with the new one, but all the work should be minor. Java and Flash are also new to me pretty much so I can't jump in right away without learning the basics. On the other hand, I wanted to change the "gameboard" portion of the site anyway and I'm not sure of how this will affect the existing javascript. A java or flash solution will / should allow me to do some extra things that would be way too much for any browser with javascript. I also noticed that with all the visibility toggling and DOM manipulation could make the browser slow at times. Possibly more than just having a flash / java version. The old way has way too many clicks to perform actions and there's no alternative than to redo it from scratch. One of the extra things I want to do is have lines or arrows indicating all the current orders (an order is sending X ships from one planet to another... the order is carried out at the end of the turn) So there are multiple orders until they become permanent and you get new ships to order around. In the current model, I'd need to use a javasc