• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
DonnyBoy

C programming 256 byte buffer significance?

This topic is 3983 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello. I'm pretty new to programming and I just wanted to ask this question that has been bugging me for a little while. As I've been going through some tutorials on the C language, I've come across the number 256 a lot, relating to character arrays (char string[256]) or buffers ( fgets(buffer,256,fp); ). This might sound dumb, but is 256 some kind of special number? I know you can have character arrays larger than 256, and you can read more data from a file than 256 bytes, so I was just wondering why I'm seeing it crop up so much. Thanks, and sorry if this is posted in the wrong place. ~Don

Advertisement
256 is a power of two. Because of the binary nature of computers, powers of two have various forms of significance in various situations. They're also usually considered "nice" numbers by programmer folks for the same reason.

An array of 256 elements can be indexed by values 0-255, or exactly the value range of a typical byte. 256 was likely chosen for the "niceness" factor, however, as the performance considerations involved are effectively zero.

It's just a nice round number.
If you write it in binary, it looks like 10000000 (or 2^8)

So it's for the same reason you tend to prefer powers of ten in normal decimal numbers. (You'd rather talk about a chunk of 1000 objects than, say, 984)

It is also true that on many older systems, and small embedded devices, there was a performance gain to be had from allocating memory in power of 2 chunks.

Quote:
Original post by jpetrie