Sign in to follow this  
bubbajoe

Where to begin with management sim game?

Hey, first of all I'm quite new to all this so this may belong in the for beginners section but here goes.. I've been learning visual c++ from a book and now I wanna move on from the basic examples in there to actually creating my own management simulation game. The most advanced thing in the book was tic-tac-toe so I was just wondering if anyone could give me some help on the next step to creating a game like this. I can't find anything else around the net cos everything seems to be geared towards creating 3d action games! Any help is much appreciated Jr.

If I where you the first thing I would do is make a list of what you want
simulated, for example I will take a Zoo. Say you want someone to be able to
mange a zoo, the first thing will be making a list of what it can:
-Want to build cages and put animals into it.
-The number of people comming to the zoo will depent on wich animals you have, and for how long.
-Mange the finaces.

Now you should think of how the user can manage them (I just fill in number or
do you need a lot of varriables and graphical diagrams). And start programming those things.

Tjaalie,

Sorry I wasn't clear enough. I meant a managament sim like Football Manager/World Soccer Manager rather than a tycoon game.

Amazingly I was just about to post the same question. I've made actiony sort of games before but I've been wanting to make a turn based simulation recently and I have been thinking of the sort of issues that are important in making that sort of game. I was wondering if there are any veterans of simulations or turn based games that have any tips or ideas of what is necessary or best practices.

I'd actually like to make a real time sim at some point, although I feel like it may make sense to make a turn based one first, as a real time one I feel would have significantly greater scope.

Quote:
Original post by bubbajoe