Sign in to follow this  
dadads

Threading and UDP questions

Hi all, As a beginner, I got a lot of questions to ask: 1. If I have 10 threads read/write to a single data structure (possibly at the same time), is this a problem? If it is, how do I prevent it from happening? 2. I've read in a tutorial that UDP packets may arrive at its destination out of order. Does it mean that when I send "apple", it might be received as "apelp"? 3. When I send an set of bytes through UDP, are there any chances that it will be segmented into separate packets before it gets sent? How do I prevent, or cope with this? 4. If an UDP packet gets damaged along the way, does the transmission end there or does it still arrive at its destination even though it's damaged? 5. How do people usually check the correctness of UDP packets that their program might receive? Thanks in advance, - dadads -

Quote:
Original post by dadads
Hi all,

As a beginner, I got a lot of questions to ask:

1. If I have 10 threads read/write to a single data structure (possibly at the same time), is this a problem? If it is, how do I prevent it from happening?

Yes, that is a problem. You fix it by some synchronization primitive or other method.

Quote:

2. I've read in a tutorial that UDP packets may arrive at its destination out of order. Does it mean that when I send "apple", it might be received as "apelp"?

No. There's a certain size (which can be different from network to network) under which you can be fairly certain that stuff will arrive as is (~1500 bytes iirc). That said, if you sent each letter as it's own packet with some sort of padding, then yes it might be received in some mangled order.

Quote:

3. When I send an set of bytes through UDP, are there any chances that it will be segmented into separate packets before it gets sent? How do I prevent, or cope with this?