Sign in to follow this  
NQ

Dynamic typecast - basic newbie c++ quick question

Kindof embarrassing since I don't consider myself a newbie, but I guess I'm still learning OOP. I have tried Google for all I'm worth and can't find the answer to this simple question: I've got a class: "entity". And I've got a subclass of it, called "creature". Now I've got a pointer to some kind of "entity". And I want to know if that particular object is a "creature", so I dare access members which only creatures have. How do I do that? I remember that you should attempt to do some kind of typecast and check if it worked, kindof like this:
 if ((creature*)entitypointer != NULL)
then_this_is_a_creature();
But the typecast never becomes NULL no matter which kinds of "entities" I pass. How do I do this correctly?

Try:

creature *the_creature = dynamic_cast <creature *> (entitypointer);

if (the_creature != 0)
{
// do stuff with the_creature (as long as it doesn't break any local byelaws)
}

Skizz

Doesn't work off the bat, and I'm afraid I'm going to have to ask again. I don't understand why the compiler throws this error:

error: cannot dynamic_cast 'holder' (of type 'class entity*') to type 'class creature*' (source type is not polymorphic)

According to me they should be polymorphic, because I've declared the classes like this:
class entity { ... };
class creature : public entity { ... };

And the creature class has some functions and variables which are not at all mentioned in the entity class. I don't have to mention them there somehow, like virtual or something, do I? What is my error?

dynamic_casts only work with polymorphic types, as the error message suggested. To convert pointers to non-polymorphic types use static_cast instead.

This leads to the question: are you aware of the difference between polymorphic and non-polymorphic types?

Skizz