Sign in to follow this  
3Dgonewild

Collecting information..

3Dgonewild    174
Alright ! Im about to create my first game in opengl (so far i've been reading tutorials and editing code that others wrote)!! I'll try to make a 2d beat em up (like streets of rage) , but .... with 3D BACKGROUNDS(3d camera will scroll left/right). I can do it , but , i have some questions because im still a beginner and i dont want any more mistakes !!. 1) How can i rotate a 2d object without glrotate() ? I've tried this : x=x+cos(angle) *x + sin(angle) * y; y=y+sin(angle) *x - cos(angle) * y; But its not what i want... 2) What about collision? I've heard that you can use collision boxes(boxes that are placed at every object). But that sounds bad idea , since some special 2d animated images contain special graphics (eg thunder attack etc..). And what kind of collision function i will need? Bounding box? circular ? something else? Thats all for now! , thanks for reading my message.

jyk    2094
Quote:
x=x+cos(angle) *x + sin(angle) * y;
y=y+sin(angle) *x - cos(angle) * y;
Here you've made the common mistake of overwriting the value of x, and then using the new value in the second equation. (The addition of x and y on the right-hand side also looks a little suspicious.)
Quote:
I've heard that you can use collision boxes(boxes that are placed at every object).
But that sounds bad idea , since some special 2d animated images contain special graphics (eg thunder attack etc..).

And what kind of collision function i will need?
Bounding box? circular ? something else?