• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
-justin-

The Next Step

This topic is 3998 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys, I've been doing game-programming off and on for a few years now. I started with DirectX, switched to SDL, and then last semester I had my first course in OpenGL at my university. My next graphics course is coming soon, in which I'll learn how to do things like Ray Tracing. While really cool, I ideally would like to get into the game-industry (that's why I'm here). I know I should probably start writing more games (I have yet to create a 3d game) but I feel like I need to know a little more in terms of graphics before moving on. In my last graphics project I did some procedural clouds with a really simple skybox, some billboarding, really simple particle system, again a simple terrain system, and used some mesh code I found off the internet :P. In which you could move around in a first-person view. This was done with OpenGL and GLUT. While I feel this is a great start, I still think I have a long ways to go. I was wondering what my next move should be, and if anyone can suggest any tutorials or books that could push me in the right direction. I already have the following books, although I haven't read through them all the way (mainly take bits and pieces of stuff): Programming Game AI by Example Game Coding Complete Programming Role Playing Games with DirectX Tricks of the Windows Game Programming Gurus Interactive Computer Graphics: A Top-Down Approach with OpenGL Introduction to 3D Game Programming with DirectX 9 Game Coding Complete is still a little beyond me I think. I've done the most in the AI book and the 3D book. The Tricks book was good when I first started a while ago and still has some info in it I like. The opengl book was my university book and I hope to use the role-playing book when I s