• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Rye

Skill?

This topic is 4024 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Do you think games that reqire skill are more fun than those that dont? Take UT2004 for example, a complete novice goes for a 1v1 against an average player. The novice wouldnt score a single frag unless he was very very luck or the average player made a mistake. Now Take World Of Warcraft. A Complete Novice could play that game and being 10 levels above an expert WoW player, the novice would easily win. Take The Curse Of Monkey Island, The game requires no skill AT ALL, just a brain to work out the crazy puzzles. Its impossible to lose that game. Now, All 3 of the above games are considered good by me and many others. But which method is the best, IS there a best? This can now be catagorised. Multiplayer and Single Player I believe in Single Player, it doesnt actually matter, As long as the story is good, or the game is fun. Then whether it requires skill or not is irrelivant But in multiplayer.... thats a different matter. I think skill is what grips our competitive nature. Be it in football, chess, juggling, or gaming. We all strive to be the best. Skill or not skill, that is the question? Any thoughts?

Advertisement
Skill, always.

With the exception of simple, random games, that you can play for about 15 minutes just for something to do with a small amount of time (think Worms Armaggedon, simple.)

In both Single & multi-player, I opt for skill-based stuff. In single player, it gives you a reason to keep playing or play it again (maybe at a higher difficulty level). If it took no skill, and was just a set of puzzles + a story, you have very little reason to do it again, or at least you missed out on the skill reason.