• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
methinks

dynamic linking on linux

This topic is 3996 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi A while ago I wrote a small framework for dynamically loading plugins in windows, which I'm now trying to port to linux. I finally have my program compiling properly, but I get runtime errors when it tries to link the libraries. -Initially it couldn't find the library at all, until I added ./ in front of the library name -now I get an error "undefined symbol: __dso_handle" I'm pretty new to linux, so it's probably something stupid that I missed. Any help is appreciated. (This is not my full program, just a small test app I wrote to figure out how everything works.) The main program file (contained in main.cpp) is compiled with g++ -o pluginTest main.cpp -ldl and run with ./pluginTest
#include <iostream>
#include <dlfcn.h>

int main()
{
	std::cout<<"Starting Program"<<std::endl;
	void * handle;
	void (*libraryObject)();
	char * error;

std::cout<<"Getting handle to library"<<std::endl;
	handle = dlopen("./extra.so.1.0",RTLD_NOW);

if(!handle)
	{
		error = dlerror();
		std::cout<<"Error getting library handle: "<<error<<std::endl;
	}
	else
	{
		std::cout<<"Accessing library function"<<std::endl;
		libraryObject = (void(*)())dlsym(handle,"run");

std::cout<<"Running library function"<<std::endl;
		libraryObject();

std::cout<<"Unloading Library"<<std::endl;
		dlclose(handle);
	}
}

the "plugin" (contained in extra.cpp) is compiled with g++ -fPIC -c extra.cpp ld -shared -soname extra.so.1 -o extra.so.1.0 -lc extra.o
#include <iostream>

extern "C" void run() {std::cout<<"This is the plugin"<<std::endl;}

Advertisement
I'm not sure about the rest but using the -L. switch with gcc should tell it that the library resides in the same directory as the executable.